Opposition Slams New Bihar Law Minister Over Involvement In Criminal Cases


Share post:

Nitish Kumar said that he had no information on the alleged outstanding arrest warrant.


With Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar allotting the portfolios in the first Cabinet expansion, the induction of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Kartikeya Singh as the law minister of the state has caused a stir as the opposition slammed Singh over his involvement in criminal cases.

Notably, RJD leader Kartikeya Singh, now a minister in the Bihar cabinet, was granted interim bail till September 1 by the court on August 12 and no coercive was issued to him.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar said that he had no information on the alleged outstanding arrest warrant.

“I do not know, I have no information about this,” said Nitish Kumar.

The Bharatiya Janata Party took a jibe at the Nitish Kumar-led Bihar government and said that the state’s law minister should be immediately dismissed.

“If Kartikeya Singh (RJD) had a warrant against him, he should have surrendered. But he has taken oath as Law Minister. I ask Nitish, is he trying to take Bihar back to Lalu’s times? Kartikeya Singh should be immediately dismissed,” said BJP MP Sushil Kumar Modi.

Earlier a total of 31 ministers were inducted into the Bihar cabinet on Tuesday from various parties that are part of the Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance in the state.

The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan.

While Chief Minister Nitish Kumar kept the crucial Home Department portfolio with himself, Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav took charge of the Health portfolio in the first Cabinet expansion of the newly-formed Mahagathbandhan government in Bihar. Janata Dal Union JD(U) leader Vijay Kumar Chaudhary got the Finance Department and RJD leader Tej Pratap Yadav was given charge of Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Of the 31 ministers sworn into the Bihar cabinet, 16 were from Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), 11 were from Nitish’s Janta Dal-United (JD-U), two were from Congress and one was from Hindustani Awam Morch (HAM) and one was an Independent lawmaker.

Shortly after the cabinet ministers were sworn in, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar told reporters that the portfolios will be allocated soon to each minister and he will hold a meeting in this regard.

Two legislators from the Congress, one from Jitin Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha and the lone Independent MLA, Sumit Kumar Singh, also took oath as cabinet ministers.

From RJD, Deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav’s brother Tej Pratap Yadav, Samir Kumar Mahaseth, Chandrashekhar, Kumar Sarvajeet, Lalit Yadav, Surendra Prasad Yadav, Ramanand Yadav, Jitendra Kumar Rai, Anita Devi and Sudhakar Singh and Alok Mehta took oath.

Congress legislators Afaque Alam and Murari Lal Gautam were inducted as ministers, while Hindustani Awam Morcha’s Santosh Suman was also sworn in.

The Bihar cabinet can have up to 36 ministers, including the chief minister. Some ministerial berths will be kept vacant for future cabinet expansion, sources said.

Nitish Kumar had broken away from the BJP and formed a government with the RJD and other parties earlier this month. The Chief Minister and his deputy – RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav – took oath on August 10.

The Bihar Grand Alliance has a combined strength of 163. Its effective strength climbed to 164 after Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh extended support to Nitish Kumar. The new government is likely to prove its majority in the Bihar Assembly on August 24.

The BJP’s central leadership will hold a meeting with the party’s Bihar unit leaders here on Tuesday, days after the JD(U) parted ways with it and formed a new government in the state.

They are likely to deliberate upon the BJP’s future course of action, and the strategy for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls, sources said, adding organisational changes may also come up for discussion. The meeting will be chaired by BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda and general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh will also be present.

The 2020 Assembly polls in Bihar were tightly contested with the National Democratic Alliance winning 125 seats, with BJP winning 74 of these, the Janata Dal (United) of Nitish Kumar 43, the Vikassheel Insaan Party 4 and Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular) 4. This put the NDA just above the requisite 122-majority mark needed to form the government.

The RJD and its allies, on the other hand, had won 110 seats. The RJD finished as the single-largest party with 75 seats, while Congress won a mere 19 seats. Of the 29 seats the Left parties had contested, they won in 16, with the CPI (ML-Liberation) winning 12 of them. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM had won five seats in the Seemanchal region of the state. Four of its MLAs have switched to the RJD.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by LOKJANTA STAFF staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Related articles

Man Sent To Jail For 142 Years For Sexually Assaulting Minor In Kerala

<!-- -->The courtroom mentioned he must go through a complete of 60 years in prison. (Representational)Pathanamthitta (Kerala): A...

High Court Vandalised In Madhya Pradesh After Lawyer’s Death By Suicide

<!-- -->Attorneys protesting on the Top Courtroom in Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh. (Video snatch)Hours after a legal professional died...

Gurgaon Police File Case Over Social Media Advertisements For Sale Of Arms

<!-- -->In line with police, one of the commercials discussed the identify of gangster Kala Jatheri.Gurgaon: The Gurugram...

Russia Vetoes UN Bid Against Ukraine Annexations, China Abstains From Voting

<!-- -->India and China each abstained in UN solution towards the condemnation of Russia's annexations.United Countries: Russia on...